Advertisements

Kllo Gives Us A Taste Of Hauntology Pop With “Back To You”

Old school meets futurism

Photo courtesy of Good Manners Records

Using vintage cassette tapes alongside synthesizers, Kllo gives us a delightful taste of hauntology (music that incorporates retrofuturism, nostalgia, cultural memory, etc.) with their new single “Back To You.” You can feel the hissing sound of old cassettes in the background as the duo unpeel the layers of a messy on-and-off relationship that is chained to memories. Stream below:

“‘Back To You’ draws influences from the early 2000s. We had an old school approach when it came to the recording process by incorporating cassettes for the ad-libs and an old sampler for the main riff,” says (Chloe) Kaul. ‘We’d spent some time in LA recently, and being there reminded us of the ‘American sound’ that we both grew up with. ‘Back To You’ is a good insight into what’s to come in our next body of work.’”

The track is from Kllo’s upcoming record, which will be out next year. The duo will embark on their European and North America tour soon, so go see them:

Saturday 26 October – Moscow, Russia

Monday 28 October – Dublin, Ireland

Tuesday 29 October – Bristol, United Kingdom

Wednesday 30 October – London, United Kingdom***SOLD OUT

Thursday 31 October – Berlin, Germany

Sunday 3 November – Utrecht, Netherlands

Saturday 9 November – Brooklyn, NY, USA

Monday 11 November – San Diego, CA, USA

Friday 15 November – San Francisco, CA, USA

Saturday 16 November – Los Angeles, CA, USA

Tuesday 19 November – Melbourne, Australia

Saturday 30 November – Sydney, Australia

Advertisements