Alewya Drops New Warrior Anthem “Jagna”

Self-empowerment 2.0

Photo:  Joseph Echenique

UK-based Ethiopian-Egyptian artist Alewya has revealed her latest single and video titled “Jagna.” Directed by Alewya herself and Tom Ringsby, the video showcases Alewya running at a breakneck speed letting us soak on the adrenalin and runner’s high (minus the pain). “Jagna” is a self-empowering, cathartic track that means “warrior” or “fighter” in Amharic – perfect to put in on when you’re getting shit done: 

“Firstly, ‘Jagna’ will never be able to be articulated in words. But I’ll try,” noted Alewya. “‘Jagna’ is polarity. ‘Jagna’ is release, ‘Jagna’ is my soul, ‘Jagna’ is my rage, ‘Jagna’ is my lesson, my desperation, frustration, my surrender, my vulnerability, my acceptance and my existence on this planet.”

“Jagana” is out now via Beacause London Records. She’ll be hitting the road with Little Simz this fall.

ALEWYA – UK/IRELAND TOUR DATES WITH LITTLE SIMZ

Thu, Nov 25 Birmingham – O2 Institute

Sat, Nov 27 Newcastle – O2 Academy

Sun, Nov 28 Glasgow – O2 Academy Glasgow

Tue, Nov 30 Dublin – Dublin Academy

Thu, Dec 02 Bristol – O2 Academy

Fri, Dec 10 Brighton, Brighton Dome

Sun, Dec 12 Cardiff – The Great Hall

Mon, Dec 13 Cambridge – Corn Exchange

Tue, Dec 14 Liverpool – O2 Academy 2

Thu, Dec 16 London – O2 Academy Brixton